Karnataka Assembly :Swami Wins Confidence BJP Walkout

[Bengaluru] Karnataka Assembly :Swami Wins Confidence BJP Walkout
The three-day old Kumaraswamy government in Karnataka today won the vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly amid a walkout by the BJP MLAs.
The motion expressing confidence in the Kumaraswamy government was adopted by voice vote in the presence of JD (S)-Congress coalition MLAs and other lawmakers supporting the government.
The BJP members staged a walkout before the trust vote was taken.
Leader of the Opposition B S Yeddyurappa made a blistering attack on Kumaraswamy, describing the ruling coalition as “unholy”.
In his speech, Kumaraswamy said his government would carry all sections together, and would take into consideration suggestions made by the Opposition.
Kumaraswamy moved the one-line motion soon after the unanimous election of Ramesh Kumar as the speaker of the assembly.
With the numbers game in favour of the coalition, the 58-year old, who took oath as chief minister on Wednesday, looks set to win the trial of strength.
The Congress has 78 MLAs,
Kumaraswamy’s JD(S) 36, and
BSP 1.
The alliance has also claimed support of the lone KPJP MLA and an independent.
Kumaraswamy had won two seats.
BJP strongman B S Yeddyurappa had stepped down on May 19, two days after he assumed office as the chief minister, without going through the motions of a floor test.
The 224-member Assembly has an effective strength of 221. The election for Jayanagar seat was countermanded following the death of the BJP candidate, and deferred in RR Nagar over allegations of electoral malpractice.