Local Bodies Of 19 Stated,Are Yet To Empowered ,So Are Financially Constrained

Local Bodies Of 19 stated ,Even After 22 Years Constitution Amendment,Are Yet To Empowered So These Are Financially Constrained. Under Article 243ZE of the Constitution 8 states Still To constitute Metropolitan Planning Committees.
Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu Says That Municipal bodies Are not empowered as required,Only ten states transferred functions to urban local bodies Whereas 19 stated still to do so Even 22 years after Constitution Amendment ‘
Most of the states have not met the requirements of the Constitution (74th Amendment) Act, 1992 in respect of devolution of powers and responsibilities to municipal bodies. This was stated by Minister of Urban Development, Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation M. Venkaiah Naidu in a written reply to Rajya Sabha today.
He further said that most municipal bodies in the country are financially constrained and lack capacity to discharge functions as per the 74th Amendment to the Constitution.
Responding to a question raised by Shri Rajiv Chandrasekhar, the Minister gave details of the status of implementation of the 74th Amendment to the Constitution under which municipal bodies were to be empowered with transfer of funds, functions and functionaries for effective local governance.
Shri Naidu informed that only ten of the twenty nine states have transferred functions under 12th Schedule to the urban local bodies. These states being: [1]Chattisgarh[2]Gujarat[3]Himachal Pradesh[4] Jammu & Kashmir[5] Jharkhand[6] Kerala[7] Madhya Pradesh, [8]Maharashtra[9] Odisha [10] Punjab.
The Minister further said, under Article 243ZE of the Constitution, 14 states were required to constitute Metropolitan Planning Committees for all metropolitan areas but only six states have done so. These include – [1]Karnataka[2] Maharashtra[3] Punjab, Rajasthan[4]Tamil Nadu [5] West Bengal.
The states still to constitute such committees being – [1]Andhra Pradesh[2] Bihar[3] Gujarat[4] Haryana[5]Jharkhand[6] MP[7] Uttar Pradesh and the newly formed state of[8] Telangana.