Tag: Punjab BJP

Ashwani Sharma Unanimously Elected President of BJP Pb

(Jalandhar,Pb)Ashwani Sharma Unanimously Elected President of BJP Pb
Ashwani Sharma , 55, replaces Shwait Malik, Punjab BJP’s election in-charge Anil Sarin said, adding the former BJP MLA was elected unopposed.
Besides, Baldev Chawla, Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Mohan Lal, Dharam Pal Rao, Kewal Kumar, Surjit Jyani, Mohan Lal Garg, Dilbar Singh, Mohinder Bhagat, Luxmi Kanta Chawala, Onkar Singh Pahwa, Tiksan Sood and Prem gugnani were elected unopposed as members of the national council of the BJP, Sarin said.
Sharma, having an RSS background, has already served as the Punjab BJP chief from 2010 to 2013. He had also served as general secretary of the state BJP.
Sharma had won the 2012 assembly polls from Pathankot and he was instrumental in getting district status to his constituency.
Sharma lost the 2017 assembly polls to Congress candidate Amit Vij.

Punjabi BJPians Holds Protests Against Congress ‘Lies’ on Rafale

[Ludhiana,Pb]Punjabi BJPians Holds Protests Against Congress ‘Lies’ on Rafale
The Punjab unit of saffron party led by Punjab BJP Chief Shwait Malik staged dharna and gheraoed the local office of the Congress near Clock Tower chowk
They also raised slogans against Congress president Rahul Gandhi.
“Rahul Gandhi is trying to befool people by raising illogical questions on the Rafale deal. The Supreme Court had also found no basis in the allegations over Rafale deal,” said Malik while addressing the gathering.
Malik demanded Gandhi’s resignation from the party.
The Supreme Court on Friday dismissed the pleas challenging the deal between India and France for the procurement of 36 Rafale jets saying there was no occasion to “really doubt the decision making process”.
The BJP is holding press meets in 70 cities across the country to attack the opposition party against the backdrop of the Supreme Court’s verdict on the controversial Rafale deal.