Tag: RTI Act

Punjab Information Commission Gets New Commissioner In Suresh Arora

[Chd,Pb]Punjab Information Commission Gets New Commissioner In Suresh Arora
Former Punjab director general of police Suresh Arora has been appointed as the state chief information commissioner on Monday
Chief Minister Amarinder Singh gave his nod for the appointment of the former DGP as the CIC,
The state government also appointed a senior journalist Asit Jolly as the information commissioner
Arora, a 1982-batch IPS officer, had superannuated in February as the state police chief after 33 years of service in different capacities.
An alumnus of the University of London, Arora had served as the senior superintendent of police of Patiala, Jalandhar, Amritsar, Hoshiarpur and Chandigarh between April 1987 and August 1994.
He was also posted as the DIG, chief minister’s security, from September 1998 till July 1998, before being appointed as the IGP-cum-director, Vigilance Bureau, in 2001.
Arora became the DGP in October 2015. It was during his tenure that the Punjab police department was shortlisted as the “best government department to implement RTI” by the state Information Commission.
Arora also has the distinction of passing the ‘Online Certificate Course’ on the RTI Act, administered by the Centre for Good Governance, Hyderabad, with an ‘A’ grade.

Rahul Gandhi Attacks BJP Govt For Sanctity Of RTI Act

[New Delhi]Rahul Attacks BJP Govt For Sanctity Of RTI Act
Congress President Rahul Gandhi today attacked the BJP government over proposed changes to the Right to Information Act, saying they will render the law useless.
The proposed amendment s, circulated among Members of Parliament, seek to do away with the parity given to information commissions with the Election Commission in terms of salary, allowances and conditions of service, RTI activists have said said
Every Indian deserves to know the truth and the BJP wants to hide the truth. The BJP believes the truth must be hidden from the people and they must not question people in power. The changes proposed to the RTI will make it a useless Act, Gandhi said on Twitter.
The government yesterday said it is considering a proposal to amend the Right to Information (RTI) Act, 2005, to frame rules on salaries and services of the chief information commissioner and information commissioners.
Leaders of various political parties yesterday said they have committed to fight any “attempt” by the Centre to “dilute” the act and oppose any amendment s to

Bhasker Khulbe[IAS],Highest Paid In PMO: Details Made Transparent

[New Delhi]Khulbe Highest Paid In PMO:Details Made Transparent:Rs 2.01 Lakh
Remuneration given to Secretary to former Prime Minister Dr Man Mohan Singh Gets Rs 1.42 Lakh Per Month
The monthly salary of all officers working in the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has been made public as part of suo motu disclosure under the RTI Act with senior IAS officer Bhaskar Khulbe the highest paid at Rs 2.01 lakh.
Khulbe, who is Secretary to the Prime Minister, gets a monthly remuneration of Rs 2.01 lakh, according to details of the salary as on June one, 2016 put on the PMO website.
Nripendra Mishra, Principal Secretary to the PM,
National Security Adviser Ajit Doval and
P K Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to Modi get Rs 1,62,500 per month, plus pension, each.
All these top bureaucrats are retired civil servants.
Six Joint Secretaries in the PMO–
Tarun Bajaj,
Vinay Mohan Kwatra,
TV Somanathan,
A K Sharma,
Anurag Jain and
Debashree Mukherjee–
get a monthly salary ranging between Rs 1.55 lakh and Rs 1.77 lakh,
Rajeev Topno and Sanjeev Kumar Singla, both private secretaries to the PM, get a monthly salary of Rs 1.46 lakh and Rs 1.38 lakh respectively.
Sharat Chander, Information Officer, and J M Thakkar, Public Relations Officer in the PMO, get a monthly remuneration of Rs 1.26 lakh and Rs 99,000, respectively, according to the PMO website.
Five other bureaucrats including the PM’s close aide Sanjay R Bhavsar, working as Officer on Special Duty (OSD) in the PMO, draws monthly remuneration of around Rs 1.1 lakh,
Besides Bhavsar, four other OSDs are Hiren Joshi, Pratik Doshi, Hemang Jani and Ashutosh Narayan Singh.
The PMO has also made public details of monthly remuneration given to Secretary to former Prime Ministers Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Manmohan Singh.
N C Jhingta, Secretary to Vajpayee, gets Rs 1.42 lakh while G Muralidhar Pillay, Singh’s Secretary, draws monthly remuneration of Rs one lakh (plus pension),
These disclosures have been made under Section 4 of the Right to Information(RTI) Act that casts an obligation on all public authorities to suo motu disclose, among others, details of remuneration given to all its employees for the sake of transparency
File Photo